Week 13 // Extra Credit – Hoc Nguyen ‘Procedural Poetry’

1) Take your favorite book.

2) On every page of a single chapter, use the last word of the page.

3) Create a poem or image using the collected words.

4) Extra words may be used to tie in collected words together.

Hoc Nguyen

https://hawknguyen.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/wk-12-activity-algorithmic-art/

To // one // think // running // real //simply // house

“To think,

that the one who blinks,

is running real,

can simply feel,

and go to their house.”

My experience with this procedural art was rather surprising. The end product came out very well in my opinion. I still don’t exactly know what it means, but it stirs great thought and I think that that’s what makes it so special. The book that I used is called “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis, and it’s a book that really changed and molded my life. I read it together with a mentor that I have from church and he mentioned to me that Lewis’s thought processes on a lot of the worldly things he had to come across made him think more deeply about his life and relationship with God. This book “Mere Christianity” is a great read and I can definitely vouch for it’s depth and satisfactory level of reading.

However for my end poem, I’m glad that it has some sort of flow to it. I realize that after doing now two of these poem creations, it’s really not easy making sense of it, but I’m pretty satisfied with how this turned out.

Leave a Reply

